Couscous with Herbs and Pomegranate by Liz Fielding

Couscous with Herbs and Pomegranate

200 gms couscous

175 ml warm water

3 tbsp olive oil

2 pomegranates (or a pack of pomegranate seeds)

25 gm shelled, unsalted pistachio nuts

Lemon juice of half a lemon

3 tbsp of chopped flat-leaf parsley and mint






Put the couscous into a shallow dish and add half the water. Let the couscous plump up for about 15 minutes then fork it through to separate the grains. Repeat with the rest of the water. Stir in 2 tbsp olive oil and season well with salt and pepper.


If you're using whole pomegranates, halve them and hold each half cut-side down over a bowl and beat with a wooden spoon. The seeds should fall out, although it doesn't always work completely. Remove any remaining with a teaspoon. Discard the white membrane. (Honestly, I just get a pack of ready prepared seeds from the supermarket!)



Either steam the couscous for five minutes in a sieve lined with a clean J-cloth set over a pan of simmering water, or heat in the oven for 20 minutes at 180 C, or microwave for 2 minutes. Fork again to make fluffy.


Stir in the pomegranate seeds, another tbsp olive oil, pistachio nuts, lemon juice and herbs. Check for seasoning.


The is perfect with a tagine of chicken and caramelised onion, or it wonderful cold as a salad.


Liz Fieding 

Liz Fielding met her husband when they were both working in Zambia and were keen members of the Lusaka Theatre Club. He was playing John de Stogumber in St Joan, and she was the pageboy to the Earl of Warwick. He swore it was the purple tights that got him. Years spent in Africa and the Middle East provided the background to many of Liz's romances. Her first, An Image of You, was set in Kenya, in a place where they had spent many happy weekends on safari. It was plucked from the slush pile because the feisty feminist heroine made her editor laugh. Emotion touched with humour has been the hallmark of her work ever since.
 
After writing 70 books for Harlequin Mills and Boon, Liz has now turned to crime, signing with Joffe Books for three "Maybridge Mysteries", the first of which, Murder Among the Roses, is published on 18th April.

 
 Liz Fielding on the web:

Website             Facebook           Twitter

Liz Fielding has a new book out:

MURDER UNDER THE MISTLETOE



MEET ABBY FINCH. SHE’S THE BUSY MUM OF THREE, AN EXPERT GARDENER AND THE STAR OF YOUR NEW FAVOURITE COZY MURDER MYSTERY.

Abby Finch arrives at the old church hall armed with festive mistletoe and holly, ready to decorate. But within moments of her walking through the door, tragedy strikes . . .

Edward Marsh reaches to test the antique star at the top of the tree. There’s a fizz and the lights go out.

Abby hears the sickening thud of a body hitting the floor. When the lights turn back on, Edward is dead.

It soon becomes clear it was no accident.

The real victim should have been Gregory Tatton. Dapper silver fox. Popular with the ladies of the seniors’ lunch club. A known blackmailer . . .

Abby is desperate to find out the truth, but putting herself in danger isn’t on her Christmas wish list.

Who’s been naughty? Who’s been nice? Who’s hiding the fact they’re a murderer?

Fans of Faith Martin, Jane Adams, Frances Evesham, M.C. Beaton, Clare Chase or Jeanne M. Dams will love this addictive cozy mystery!


Buy on:

Amazon Kindle          

Amazon UK               Amazon Aust



Comments

  1. So colourful and appetizing! I love pistachios.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yummy dish and the book sounds good

    ReplyDelete
  3. Replies
    1. Pleasure, Ellie. It's a favourite. I need to make it more often.

      Delete
  4. Lovely addition to a buffet, Caitlin.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I haven't eaten such a dish, but I must say that it looks amazing and I'm sure it's delicious :) I don't know the book, but it has an interesting title :)
    Greetings from Poland!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Klaudia. Hope all is well with you in Poland.

      Delete
  6. Me ha encantado tu receta, rica y original. Un beso

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh, this looks so good! Would love to try this.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Your turn to share your food addiction!